The more you know!

lead-5433aac9c9fb3

No matter how much you think you know, there is always more to learn. That’s what I found out in my time over the past few weeks in this class. In my past few jobs I did dabble in a bit of digital marketing; Facebook promotions, SEO, email marketing, etc. I knew there was more to learn, but I never imagined all that I would.

During the class I got a much greater depth knowledge or Google analytics and Adwords. This has helped so much. In my current job we work with vendor partners who run Adwords campaigns for us. I knew that we would have an ad that was up on Google, but that was the extent of how I knew it worked. Now I know that what we are paying for are the words we are bidding on within the campaigns we are running, as well as setting the time of day and geography. This gives me a lot more knowledge when we are discussing with the vendors new campaigns to run, how to select the words we are bidding on, as well as for our target markets when we want to run these campaigns.

With analytics, we can now track on our website what is working and what isn’t. I knew what was good and what wasn’t on analytics before, however I never really knew how to explain it to others. I just knew what was good and what wasn’t. After our analytics class I was able to cooperate with the girls in my office to make a presentation to explain how analytics work to our management. Since we could explain that we were losing people from the front page with no call to action, and then SHOW that we were losing people. The ability to then show them what was happening off our website because of a lack of call to action was remarkable.

BloggingI got to learn more about blogs. I use to blog a lot and we have one that we run as work. The tips and tricks that I have learned to make a better blog are phenomenal. Not only has my personal blogging gotten better, but I have been able to successfully give tips to the engineers at work. When we started the blog at work, the engineers were writing full essays. Multiple pages, no headers, no breaks, just pages of technical writing. Now, they have headers, shorter posts, fun interaction questions, and a readable blog that is growing each day.

From everything that I have learned I’ve got a lot of ideas buzzing around for NextStepU that they are not utilizing. They could do a lot of work with Adwords to boost their brand awareness as well as a lot more with social media that would be helpful to part of the target market. I think with using some of these techniques that were learned, a very strong digital plan could be used with NextStepU that would be far more effective then traditional media plans. I am really excited to move forward and get working on our full marketing plans for NextStepU.

Leave a comment