Let’s Make You a Believer

The Road To My Career

When I graduated from college I didn’t really know where I wanted to live, or what I wanted to do. I had graduated with a degree in Communications, which is kind of like saying I like American food. Unspecific and vague to say the least! After living in Australia, working at a multiple restaurants and and insurance brokerage I stumbled into a position at CooperVision as a Digital Marketing Consultant. At first I joked with my friends and family that I got to play on Facebook all day, but was quick to find the depth, complexity and effectiveness that digital marketing provides.

What I Learned 

Although I continue to work in digital marketing, I was excited to take Digital Marketing class because there is sooo much to learn in this field! You may think you have a good grasp on everything one day, and then Google will make an algorithm change and then ya don’t! I don’t have the opportunity to design websites at work, so I thought it was really interesting to look at Google Analytics and learn how to create different campaigns to keep track of each marketing campaign that was setup.

But The Final Presentations! 

Okay, so no one gets excited about creating a final presentation, or a marketing plan and with that point, I will say that I certainly was not excited about this assignment. However, as time consuming and mind boggling and this exercise may be, it is extremely helpful going back to what we learned in 505 and creating a digital marketing plan for a company other than our client. This really helped to solidify the process in my mind and also reminded me of a few things that we had learned in the more fundamental classes. Super super helpful!!

digital_marketing

Leave a Reply

